Incorporated in Rhode Island in 1981, the Sudans Studies Association (SSA) is the foremost academic organization of scholars and educators interested in the study of the region from all over the world. Its goal is to promote and foster the research and study of the region, facilitate communication and cooperation among its members, nature new generations of scholars and encourage the publication of matter pertaining to Sudan studies. The Sudans Studies Association is:

  • An independent non-profit membership association. Dedicated to advancing Sudan Studies as a scientific discipline and profession.

  • Sponsor and host of an annual meeting that brings scholars from North American and other parts of the world.

  • It is responsible for the Sudan Studies Bulletin Governed by a Board of Directors elected by membership.

Its membership includes:

  • College and university professors.

  • Researchers.

  • Graduate students.

 

ABOUT THE SSA

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBERS

PRESIDENT-ELECT

PRESIDENT

Dr. Bakry Elmedni

Dr. Souad T. Ali

Assistant Professor 

Long Island University- Brooklyn

Brooklyn, New York bakry.elmedni@liu.edu
                    

    Head of Classics and Middle East Studies

   School of International Letters & Cultures
               Arizona State University
                    taj_1234@msn.com
                   

TREASURER

Dr. Pamela DeLargy

Professor of Practice

School of Politics and Global Studies  

Arizona State University
  panela.delargy@asu.edu
                      

SECRETARY

Fatima Abdelwahab

International Educational Development, MA

Teachers College, Columbia University

fabdelwahab14@gmail.com

 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Dr. Lako Tongun

Associate Professor of International and Intercultural Studies and Political Studies

Pitzer College

lako_tongun@pitzer.edu

Yasmin Badri

PMHDC | PPEP Microbusiness & Housing Development Corporation

 Mohamed-Hashim Elkareem

University of Toronto

mh.elkareem@mail.utoronto.ca

Dr. Randall Fegley

Associate Professor

Department of History and Political Sciences

Penn State Berk College

raf8@psu.edu

Dr. Abdullahi Gallab

Associate Professor

School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies

Arizona State University

abdullahi.gallab@asu.edu

Tamador Gibreel

Mental Health Therapy Clinician

MA.Ed Mental health Counseling

Cambridge College, Springfield MA  2017

Sudanese Actress, Director and Entertainer 

BA Theater and Drama Production, Drama and Music Institute 1982

Rebecca Glade

Graduate Student 

Department of History

Columbia University

rmglade@gmail.com

Dr. Richard Lobban

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology and African Studies

Rhode Island College

rlobban@ric.edu

Dr. Crystal Murphy

Associate Professor

Department of Political Sciences

Chapman University

crmurphy@chapman.edu

 

SSA BULLETIN

Dr. Carolyn Fluehr-Lobban

                   Rhode Island College
                     cfluehr@ric.edu

  Marcus Jaeger

                   University of Cologne
                  marcusjaeg@yahoo.de

 

BULLETIN EDITOR

BOOK REVIEWS EDITOR

©2019 by Sudans Studies Association.